RDMToolKIT

The RDMToolKIT offers you the possibility to put together your presentation "on demand" from the portfolio of lecture and training topics of the service team RDM@KIT.

Logo RDM-ToolkitResearch Data Management (RDM) is one of the most important prerequisites of scientific activity and is a requirement of many funding agencies and both part of good scientific integrity and embedded in many institutional RDM/Open Science policies. RDM affects all phases of the research process with the goal of securing and storing data in a long-term, person-independent manner that is discoverable, accessible, verifiable, interoperable, and reusable according to FAIR principles.

In the implementation of the RDM, the orientation towards the research data life cycle helps to show which measures are useful in each case and which services & tools are offered at KIT for this purpose. The RDMToolKIT offers you a presentation "on demand" for the phases of the research data life cycle, which you can compile according to your wishes. Please fill out this contact form.

For a personal arrangement, please feel free to contact∂rdm.kit.edu.

 

Research data is understood to mean all (digital) data that arises in the course of a scientific research process. The types of research data with which the respective researchers work are as diverse as the specialist disciplines: the spectrum ranges from measurement data, laboratory values, samples, audiovisual information, texts, survey data, software code to objects from collections and much more. This module teaches you the basics of research data management - from beginners to professionals.

Contents: 

 

Directive (EU) 2019/1024 of the European Parliament and of the Council defines "research data" as documents in digital form, other than scientific publications, collected or generated in the course of scientific research activities and as evidence in the research process used or that are generally considered necessary in the research community for the validation of research findings and results.

Within the framework of this research data process, the law provides framework conditions. The most common legal issues are dealt with in the following areas of law and offered in combinable modules.

Contents:

  • Copyright
    • Copyright protection of research data
    • Ownership of data
    • Right of use
    • Reusability of research data
    • Publish and share research data
  • License Licensing issues when publishing research data 
    • CC Licenses
    • Digital Peer Publishing Licenses
    • ODC - Licensing
    • Data License Germany
  • Good scientific practice and authorship
  • data protection law
    • Legal framework and material scope
    • Principles for the processing of personal data
    • Lawfulness of data processing
    • Affected Rights
    • iVA: the interactive Virtual Assistant

 

Effective data management can help optimize your research results, increase the impact and reach of your research, and support open scientific research. The data literacy / data management module provides you with basic knowledge of data management and explains best practice examples for the documentation, organization, sharing, archiving and publication of your research data in accordance with the FAIR principles. In this module you will learn how to organize, archive and (re)use your research data in a structured and efficient manner.

Contents:

 

Data Management Plans (DMP) are not only a requirement of research funders, but also a fundamental part of good data management that enables discoverability, accessibility, interoperability and reusability of your data. With the help of software tools such as ARGOS or the Research Data Management Organizer (RDMO), you can not only create a DMP but also digitally manage your entire research project. In this module, data management plans and their importance in the research context are briefly explained. Based on a research project, a DMP is created "live" in the RDMO and the use of the tool is explained. Meanwhile, you can try out the software yourself and create your own DMP.

Contents: 

  • Definition, components and DMP tools
  • Specifications from sponsors regarding DMPs
  • RDMO presentation in detail
  • Hands on RDMO

 

Laboratory notebooks play an important role in the planning, implementation and evaluation of scientific experiments. Paper-based laboratory notebooks are increasingly being replaced by Electronic Laboratory Notebooks (ELNs). These have the advantage that they can be connected directly to measuring devices, analysis programs or storage systems, which means that results are easier to understand and research becomes more efficient. In this module you will learn the basics of ELNs, we will support you in selecting the right ELN for your research work. In addition, you will be introduced to three ELNs (Chemotion, Kadi and eLabFTW) that you can test yourself using exercise data.

Contents: 

  • Basics of Electronic Laboratory Notebooks (ELNs)
  • Benefits of ELNs
  • Assistance in selecting suitable ELNs
  • Practical examples: Chemotion, Kadi und eLabFTW

 

Your research data can be stored and published in repositories. Ideally, there are specialist repositories (e.g. Chemotion) or institutional repositories (e.g. RADAR4KIT) or generic online storage services (e.g. Zenodo) that you can choose for storing your research data. International repositories of all scientific disciplines are documented via the re3data.org service. In addition to the appropriate specialist community, important aspects for a suitable repository are the possibility of long-term archiving, e.g. via tape storage and the assignment of Persistent Identifiers (PID), e.g. Digital Object Identifier (DOI) to make the generated data citable. In this module you will be introduced to the basics of repositories - search, selection and other services.

Contents:

  • Definition and types
  • Search for repositories in general
  • Search services and registers for repositories
  • Examples of subject-specific repositories (customizable)
  • Repositories at KIT, overview
  • RADAR4KIT and KITopen
  • re3data in detail
  • Hands on re3data

 

Various services are available to researchers at universities in Baden-Württemberg for calculating, sharing and storing or archiving research data. These differ according to the needs of the researchers, because it is either about data in ongoing research projects that are still being worked on, or about completed data sets that are to be archived. In this unit you will get an overview of the available storage and computing infrastructures, their access conditions and the respective advantages.

Contents:

RDMToolKIT

Das RDMToolKIT bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit, aus dem Portfolio der Vortrags- und Schulungsthemen des Serviceteam RDM@KIT, Ihre Veranstaltung „on demand“ zusammenzustellen.

Logo RDM-Toolkit

Das Forschungsdatenmanagement (FDM) gehört zu den wichtigsten Voraussetzungen der wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit und ist Vorgabe von vielen Fördergebern und sowohl Teil der guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis als auch in vielen institutionellen FDM/Open Science-Policies verankert. Das FDM betrifft alle Phasen des Forschungsprozesses mit dem Ziel, die Daten nach den FAIR-Prinzipien  langfristig und personenunabhängig auffindbar, zugänglich, nachprüfbar, interoperabel und nachnutzbar zu sichern und zu speichern.

Bei der Umsetzung des FDM hilft die Orientierung am Forschungsdatenlebenszyklus, der aufzeigt, welche Maßnahmen jeweils sinnvoll sind und welche Services & Tools am KIT dafür angeboten werden. Das RDMToolKIT bietet Ihnen zu den Phasen des Forschungszyklus einen Vortrag „on demand. Sie können aus den folgenden Modulen wählen und dabei eigene Schwerpunkte definieren. Bitte füllen Sie dieses Kontaktformular aus.

Für eine persönliche Absprache können Sie sich gerne mit uns in Verbindung setzen: contact∂rdm.kit.edu.

Unter Forschungsdaten versteht man alle (digitalen) Daten, die im Verlauf eines wissenschaftlichen Forschungsprozesses anfallen. So unterschiedlich wie die Fachdisziplinen sind auch die Typen von Forschungsdaten, mit denen die jeweiligen Forschenden arbeiten: von Messdaten, Laborwerten, Proben, audiovisuellen Informationen, über Texte, Surveydaten, Softwarecode bis hin zu Objekten aus Sammlungen und vielem mehr reicht die Bandbreite. Dieses Modul vermittelt Ihnen die Grundlagen zum Forschungsdatenmanagement - vom Einsteiger bis zum zum Profi.

Icon ForschungsdatenmanagementInhalte:

 

Die Richtlinie (EU) 2019/1024 des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates definiert „Forschungsdaten“ als Dokumente in digitaler Form, bei denen es sich nicht um wissenschaftliche Veröffentlichungen handelt und die im Laufe von wissenschaftlichen Forschungstätigkeiten erfasst oder erzeugt und als Nachweise im Rahmen des Forschungsprozesses verwendet werden oder die in der Forschungsgemeinschaft allgemein für die Validierung von Forschungsfeststellungen und -ergebnissen als notwendig erachtet werden.

Im Rahmen dieses Forschungsdatenprozesses gibt das Recht Rahmenbedingungen vor. Die häufigsten rechtlichen Fragestellungen werden in den folgenden Rechtsgebieten behandelt und in kombinierbaren Modulen angeboten.

Icon rechtliche AspekteInhalte:

  • Urheberrecht
    • Urheberrechtlicher Schutz von Forschungsdaten
    • Eigentum an Daten
    • Nutzungsrecht
    • Nachnutzbarkeit von Forschungsdaten
    • Veröffentlichen und Teilen von Forschungsdaten
  • Lizenzierungsfragen bei der Veröffentlichung von Forschungsdaten
    • CC-Lizenzen
    • Digital Peer Publishing Lizenzen
    • ODC - Lizenzierung
    • Datenlizenz Deutschland
  • Datenschutzrecht
    • Rechtlicher Rahmen und sachlicher Anwendungsbereich
    • Grundsätze für die Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten
    • Rechtmäßigkeit der Datenverarbeitung
    • Betroffenen Rechte
    • iVA: der interactive Virtual Assitant

Ein effektives Datenmanagement kann dazu beitragen, Ihre Forschungsergebnisse zu optimieren, die Wirkung und Reichweite Ihrer Forschung zu erhöhen und die offene wissenschaftliche Forschung zu unterstützen. Das Modul Datenkompetenz / Datenmanagement vermittelt Ihnen grundlegende Kenntnisse im Datenmanagement und erläutert Best-Practice-Beispiele für die Dokumentation, Organisation, gemeinsame Nutzung, Archivierung und Veröffentlichung Ihrer Forschungsdaten gemäß den FAIR-Prinzipien. In diesem Modul lernen Sie, wie Sie Ihre Forschungsdaten strukturiert und effizient organisieren, archivieren und (nach-) nutzen können.

Icon DatenkompetenzInhalte:

  • Datenorganisation und Tools 
  • Datenbeschreibung mit Metadaten und Metadatenstandards 
  • Datenspeicherung und Datenformate 
  • Daten teilen, nachnutzen und zitieren 
  • Services &Tools für die kollaborative Arbeit am KIT (international)  

 

Datenmanagementpläne (DMP) sind nicht nur eine Anforderung der Forschungsförderer, sondern auch ein elementarer Bestandteil eines guten Datenmanagements, das die Auffindbarkeit, Zugänglichkeit, Interoperabilität und Wiederverwendbarkeit Ihrer Daten ermöglicht. Mit Hilfe von Softwaretools wie bspw. ARGOS oder der Research Data Management Organiser (RDMO) können Sie nicht nur einen DMP erstellen sondern auch ihr ganzes Forschungsprojekt digital managen. In diesem Modul werden Datenmangementpläne und deren Bedeutung im Forschungskontext kurz erläutert. Anhand eines Forschungsprojekts wird ein DMP im RDMO "live" erstellt und dabei die Nutzung des Tools erklärt. Sie können währenddessen die Software selbst ausprobieren und ihren eigenen DMP erzeugen.

Icon DatenmanagementpläneInhalte:

  • Definition, Bestandteile und DMP-Tools 
  • Vorgaben von Förderern bzgl. DMPs 
  • RDMO Vorstellung ausführlich 
  • Hands-on RDMO

 

Laborbücher spielen eine wichtige Rolle bei der Planung, Durchführung und Auswertung (natur-) wissenschaftlicher Experimente. Papierbasierte Laborbücher werden zunehmend von elektronischen Laborbüchern (ELNs, engl. Electronic Laboratory Notebooks) abgelöst. Diese haben den Vorteil, dass sie direkt an Messgeräte, Analyseprogramme oder Speichersysteme angebunden werden können, wodurch Ergebnisse besser nachvollziehbar sind und die Forschung effizienter wird. In diesem Modul lernen Sie die Grundlagen zu ELNs, wir unterstützen Sie dabei das passende ELN für Ihre Forschungsarbeit auszuwählen. Darüber hinaus werden Ihnen drei ELNs vorgestellt (Chemotion, Kadi und eLabFTW), die Sie anhand von Übungsdaten selbst testen können.

Icon elektronische LaborbücherInhalte:

  • Grundlagen zu elektronischen Laborbüchern (ELNs) 
  • Vorteile von ELNs
  • Unterstützung bei der Auswahl geeigneter ELNs 
  • Praxisbeispiele: Chemotion, Kadi und eLabFTW

 

Die Speicherung und Publikation Ihrer Forschungsdaten kann in Repositorien erfolgen. Es bieten sich idealerweise Fachrepositorien (z. B. Chemotion) oder institutionelle Repositorien (z. B. RADAR4KIT) an, oder auch generische Online-Speicherdienste (z. B. Zenodo) die Sie für die Speicherung Ihrer Forschungsdaten wählen können. Über den Dienst re3data.org sind Repositorien aller wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen international nachgewiesen. Wichtige Aspekte für ein geeignetes Repositorium sind neben der passenden Fachcommunity die Möglichkeit der Langzeitarchivierung, z.B. via Bandspeicher und die Vergabe von Persistent Identifiers (PID), z.B. Digital Object Identifier (DOI) um die erzeugten Daten zitierbar zu machen. In diesem Modul werden Ihnen die Grundlagen zu Repositorien - Suche, Auswahl und weitere Dienste vorgestellt.

Icon RepositorienInhalte:

  • Definition und Typen
  • Suche nach Repositorien allgemein
  • Suchdienste und Register für Repositorien
  • Beispiele für fachspezifische Repositorien (individuell anpassbar)
  • Repositorien am KIT, Überblick
  • RADAR4KIT und KITopen
  • re3data ausführlich
  • Hands-on re3data

 

Für das Rechnen, Teilen und die Speicherung bzw. Archivierung von Forschungsdaten stehen Forschenden der baden-württembergischen Hochschulen verschiedene Dienste zur Verfügung. Diese unterscheiden sich nach den Bedarfen der Forschenden, denn entweder geht es um Daten in laufenden Forschungsprojekten, mit denen noch gearbeitet wird, oder um abgeschlossene Datensätze, die archiviert werden sollen.

In dieser Einheit erhalten Sie einen Überblick über die verfügbaren Speicher- und Recheninfrastrukturen, deren Zugangsbedingungen und jeweiligen Vorteile.

Icon Speicher- und Recheninfrastruktur BWInhalte: